My Spin On Gift Giving

gift-giving

Not sure why the song, Christmas time is coming, came to mind this morning, but perhaps because it’s only 20 days away, or because our tree is up and decorated now, or the scenery when I opened the blinds triggered it. We got about 6” of snow this week, I doubt we’ll see grass again until spring. See you next year, my diehard pansies.

For those who don’t know, I love making lists. Short ones, long ones, loose ones and ones in note books. They have a place in my purse, in draws, beside my chair and of course on the iPad seldom out of reach. One particular list is very useful, it’s gift ideas for people which I add to throughout the year.

With only a couple gifts left undecided, it’s time to study that list and finish shopping.

Since Mister’s retirement, he is more involved in choosing who gets what, and now we usually shop together. It’s rare for me to drive when it’s the two of us, but he’s a willing chauffeur as long as we’re not out evenings or weekends when places are busy.

A crowd or line-up person, Mister is not.

Retirement for us, is like coming full circle, we are back working within a budget of sorts and our Christmas gift giving reflects this.

People approaching this phase in life often worry about how they will adjust, it scares us all at first. Sure, sometimes I miss spontaneous spending, one of which is not buying bigger, special presents like we used to occasionally, but our family respects a gifts cost isn’t what’s important.

Homemade items have and I’m sure will always be acceptable gifts within our family.

I think the kids and spouses appreciate the occasional one from me, or they’re too sweet to say otherwise. It’s not that I knit everyone a scarf whether they need or want one, but if I can make an item and personalize it, I will, and I’m not the only one in the family that makes gifts.

The kids have tucked away as keepsakes some handmade presents from years past. There’s the tall, multi floor Barbie doll house, complete with furniture, a plastic canvas fold-up micro machine city, and a twill blanket, matching shipping boots and leather show halter for their pony to name a few.

This year is no different, some presents are getting made.

I also use to enjoy creating puzzles. Each person got an envelope with a list of questions. The answers had the same number of letters as following blanks and one blank in each answer was colored. The letters from those blanks spelled out their gifts hiding place.

100-0031_img

The Kids & Grandchildren Doing Puzzles 

Writing this post brought to mind A Birthday Gift Story from a couple years ago.

It started the fall prior to our sons birthday, part of his gift took me almost five months to complete.

With busy schedules, Mister, myself, our daughter and son met at a restaurant in a City between where we all live. After the meal, in the sunny parking lot, he used his truck’s lowered tailgate as a table to unwrap presents.

His face when he opened the box from Mister and I caused a smile. It was a mix of, on second thought, no mix, his look said, “Mom, you’re losing it.”

He lifted the white hoodie and spotted a black shirt underneath. Both items he had given me five months prior for mending.

Of course, we added something else to the gift, but I couldn’t resist wrapping these since I had finally gotten them repaired. What the heck, he hadn’t seen either for so long, they were like new to him. Unwrapping is more fun than handing him a boring plastic bag. (smiley face)

Back to Christmas thoughts.

Have other parents ever drifted asleep Christmas Eve while waiting for their children to do the same, only to wake in a panic because of how long they dozed and what they had left to do?

One year, our daughter decided that along with cookies and milk for Santa we should put hay on our roof for the reindeer. That was a detail hard for Mister to take care of in the dark of night without making noise and leaving tracks. It’s a good thing we found out, the reindeer get sluggish between flights if they eat so we only did that once. (a smiley face for our creative thinking)

Do you give homemade gifts?

Leave a Reply

