Double Double or Spiked

latte

This fall Mister began joining me for my afternoon coffee ritual, instead of my double cream, double sugar, his condiment of choice is a shot of Irish Cream liquor.

Some of you might know this drink by its nickname, Camping Coffee. It ordinated in the days of tents and no heaters but is still enjoyed by many.

For something different, I recently made myself a Irish cream latte. If you haven’t tried one, all you do is add Irish Cream to the milk before you steam it. You can make it with coffee creamer, or if you really want to warm-up use liquor.

Do you have a, hard to buy for, coffee drinker on your shopping list?

This is a faithful recipe for homemade Irish Cream liquor which I’ve had for years.

A bottle of this is a great gift idea.

Irish Cream Liquor

  • 1 Cup – Jameson Irish Whiskey
  • 1 Cup – Water
  • 1 can(8oz) – Eagle Brand Milk
  • 3 – Eggs (mixed)
  • 2 TBSP – Instant coffee
  • 1 can(8oz) – canned milk 2%
  • ¼ tsp – Vanilla
  • 1 TBSP – Chocolate syrup

We always put mixture in dark bottles with screw tops, and remember to Keep this liquor refrigerated.

For almost two weeks, our abnormal and frigid winter weather kept us indoors more than usual. It motivated me to get items crossed off my to-do list, but it also brought on bouts of cabin fever. When that happened, decreased concentration and productivity meant I jumped between projects or spent time on trivial tasks like sorting bags of old buttons into colors. Mister got dragged into helping with that distraction, so we could clean off and eat lunch at the table.

Mister and I, are grateful for our special friends T & E, and card nights filled with laughter. These get-togethers sure help pass long winter evenings.

Because of cold traveling conditions I missed out on trips into town and snooping through the malls. Extreme temperatures even spoiled plans of our daughter and my BFF meeting me in the city for a shopping day.

Thank goodness, Mister and I got our gifts bought early or I would be in a panic right now.

Handmade gifts are done, the presents are wrapped, and all that’s left to do before the big day is some baking.

Our weather forecast predicts a warming trend, and I woke Sunday morning to a shockingly nice -4c which sure is better than the -20’s.

The smart thing would have been to bake during the cold spell. My excuse was, no room in the freezer to store stuff. Real reason, I just wasn’t into it.

Now, with the coming warmth I’ll want to be outside or go to town, but I better be inside baking. I really should have thought that through.

Do you bake at Christmas?

Are you ready for Christmas?

Leave a Reply

