Have You Ever Wondered?

98 one of Grand Hotel carriages

Mackinac Island, Michigan

Have you ever looked through your vacation pictures and taken note of the small things instead of what enticed you to take the photo in the first place?

An example of what I’m referring to is, have you ever noticed the number of strangers captured in your shots.

Wouldn’t it be interesting to know how many people have, you, in their vacation pictures?

Maybe I’m weird but I think of this often, does anyone else?

We know nobody in the holiday photo above.

Interesting points about Mackinac Island.

  • Mackinac Island is 3.8 sq. miles of land area on Lake Huron, with 8 miles of coastline.
  • It is only accessible by watercraft or small aircraft.
  • It has a Fort, built in 1780 and closed as a active post in 1895.
  • Yellowstone National Park was the first National Park established, and just three years later in 1875, Mackinac Island National Park was named the 2nd National Park. 
  • Since 1898, motorized vehicles have been and still are restricted to emergency and some construction vehicles only.
  • Peddle bikes, horses and horse drawn carts are the island’s mode of transportation.
  • Fudge is the number 1 souvenir since the 1920’s. 
  • The 2010 Census showed 492 year round residents with approximately 15,000 summer visitors per day.

It is a beautiful place to visit with amazing architecture.

16 thoughts on “Have You Ever Wondered?

  1. :LOL~ I have wondered that before! Plus it always makes me realize how big the world is, for how there are so many people that I don’t know at all! 🙂
    MacKinac Island sounds great and I like the picture. My husband and I dream of going to Ireland someday!! It is on our bucket list!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I do wonder about that! I do know I’ve accidentally photo bombed. Once it was someone’s selfie and my kids had to tell me. And on a trip to Greece, an elderly man requested that his photo be taken with my husband so he’d have a “friend” in his picture. I thought that was sweet.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh my, I have never given that any thought! The only time a stranger asked to take my photo was when I was in Amsterdam on Queen’s Day (A huge national holiday) and I had on a knitted crown that I had made and an orange dress and a cape that was done in autumn colors (Orange is the national color for that day) and two young men came up to me and asked if they could take my photo. Now this was just 8 years ago so I was not a hot young chick (I am now a cold, old, hen) and I was wondering why on earth they would want it but they seemed sincere, they we’re probably there as a tourist as I was and wanted to show their friends how weird some people looked! So I said yes, and there you go, my only time I was snapped at like I was famous!
    (Sad side note: I took tons of photos of my trip there and to Paris and never backed them up after I put them on my computer and the damn thing crashed and I lost every photo I had taken….every single one….so, if I have no photos, does it mean I never was there????)

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’ve never been to Mackinac Island but I remember the movie Somewhere in Time and falling head over heals for Christopher Reeve. I wasn’t aware that it was our 2nd National Park.

    I have had the same thought about random pictures I’m sure I’m in. I try to get out of the way if someone is taking a picture, but sometimes it can’t be helped. I just hope I haven’t ruined anyone’s vacation photos 😄

    Liked by 2 people

    • Yes, a person does try to avoid being a strangers pictures, but its unavoidable at times. 🙂 Mackinac Island was a great joy to visit, I’d recommend it to anyone interested in big beautiful homes, old restored Hotels, and of course being on a un-motorized island with tons of history. We took a private carriage tour and our driver/guide shared so many interesting facts.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

