Torturer or Green Thumb

Tigers

Tiger Lilly

I’m glad we’re home to enjoy these beauties. I wish all the buds were open for this picture, but not one of my 4 bushes listened when I told them what day this post goes out. Even telling them they were the headliners didn’t speed up the process.

Tiger Lillie’s, are high on my favorite outside flower list that I can grow with my faint green tinted thumb. Next on the list would be Daisies, Pansies and Phlox, all hardy, faithful perennials. I do love Begonias, Geraniums, Gazanias, and Portulacas, but I didn’t plant any annuals this year, they just end up being fancy rabbit food.

Lilac bushes are a must for me, wonderful for both their beauty and their fragrance.

A somewhat unique outside plant for where we live, yet we have had luck growing them in our yards for years is, Prickly Pear Cactus. Even being buried under snow for months doesn’t stop them from coming back to life each summer. Keeping them weeded is a pain, sometimes literally, but my trick is long handled needle nose pliers, or a long handle fish hook remover.

Cactus

Roses are a favorite, but I didn’t include them above because I’m ashamed to admit I’ve been torturing a bush for ten or so years. I water, prune, occasionally fertilize and sprinkle slug pellets when necessary, so it’s either a trooper or ornery. Don’t get me wrong it flowers, but is still only about a foot tall and often has less leaves than flowers. It’s planted in the sun as its tag suggested, I just don’t know how to make it happier.

Rose

Do you have a green thumb?

What flowers do you enjoy?

Which can you grow best?

11 thoughts on “Torturer or Green Thumb

  1. I live in Arizona. So plants have to be tough. I have a green thumb but it is hard here. My citrus put on a lot of fruit this year. But there will not be a good crop for next year. The good news is my Bougainvillea is stunning and it is right outside of my kitchen window. I love watching the hummingbirds darting in and out.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Some great tips, I hate getting stuck with the thorns. I have found that even though they say most Roses like full sun, that if they get sun from about noon till evening, mine have done better then. Yours are still beautiful!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

