Biggest Surprise Ever

E15C96D3-2DDB-4C15-89B8-CD49A9E16BEF

Not that I had a birthday, but that our kids pulled off the biggest surprise ever.

An amazing feat because I’m usually pretty perceptive, and our daughter is usually terrible at letting things like this accidentally slip.

The thought and kid’s joint efforts made this birthday Forever Special.

My actual birthday fall on a week day, and I received the usual phone calls and messages. Even with it being a bit of a “milestone one” I didn’t expect anything more.

I should have gotten suspicious months earlier, when a “family appy (appetizers) night” was scheduled on the Saturday following my birthday. The invitation list was simple with kids, spouses, grandkids, and great grandkids. Although these events are common, they are never put on the calendar months in advance.

It didn’t even strike me as odd when pressed to join the smokers outside before the food was put out buffet style.

Without thought, I led the way back into the kitchen where everyone gathered around the table started to sing happy birthday. 

The cake was homemade decorated cupcakes shaped into a boat anchor. Very appropriate if you know me.

At least there were numbered candles not the exact number of candles to blowout. 

Sitting on the table in front of the cake was a small ribbon wrapped gift box from the kids. Inside was a beautiful handmade necklace with six intertwined silver rings and a saying, “six rings, one for each amazing decade.”

Thank You kids, for the work that went into this,

and

Thanks to all that braved the country roads that snowy night.

I Love you all.

As the night went on stories were shared on how they worried I was going to notice random people disappearing, whispered conversations, snickers, and wagged eye brows during recent get togethers, and during the beginning of the appy night. I had, but never put it all together.

Are you perceptive or suspicious when it comes to things happening around you?

Are you easily surprised?

17 thoughts on “Biggest Surprise Ever

  1. Happy Birthday! I’m usually perceptive – being surrounded by males who like to pull pranks has made me very suspicious and extra careful… I’m not so easily surprised anymore. But when I was younger I was very easy to dupe!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Happy birthday! We are surprising my SIL for her 90th today for lunch. It’s all the women in the family, some of whom she only sees once a year. She knows she’s having lunch with three of us, but will be surprised to see the extended family. It is very hard to pull off surprises. There was no way we could do it without her thinking at least a few of us would be there.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment